The ultimate guide to finding certified vegan wines

Vegan wine is a style of wine that does not use animal-derived products or by-products during the winemaking process, and can be identified by a 'Certified Vegan' label or by reading for animal-derived ingredients. The post The ultimate guide to finding certified vegan wines appeared first on The Cincinnati Herald - Black & African American community news.

The ultimate guide to finding certified vegan wines

Wanda Haynes,

Certified Sommelier

Vegans avoid all meat, dairy, eggs, wool, feathers, leather, fur, honey, seafood, fish, and animal-derived materials.

This includes products tested on animals, and places that use animals for entertainment. The wine they drink must foster their diet and beliefs.

The term “fining” is a process of adding substances to rid the wine of solids to make it clear.

It is often traditional fining agents that can make a wine unsuitable for vegans.

Gelatin, fiber of crustation shells, and fish oils can be used to refine wine.

Egg whites or casein which is a protein in dairy milk can be used to remove tiny particles in a wine that cannot be removed by traditional filtration.

Animal products used in wine production may include beeswax, used to seal bottles, and agglomerated corks is a milk-based glue. These items aren’t on the wine label and the USA or Europe aren’t currently required to list them.

What is a vegan wine?

Vegan wine is a style of wine that does not involve the use of animal-derived products or by-products during the winemaking process. 

Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are appropriate in fining vegan wine.

Ways to know if a wine is vegan.

*Look closely for a ‘Certified Vegan’ label.

*Read for animal-derived ingredients.

*Go to the producer’s website or social media

The post The ultimate guide to finding certified vegan wines appeared first on The Cincinnati Herald - Black & African American community news.